futurEU Competition 2022: Final Round

futurEU Competition 2022: Final Round

8 April, 5:00 - 7:00pm CET
On-site & online

Join us for the futurEU Final event 2022 to hear students and PhD researchers from CIVICA present their visionary proposals for the EU.

After a successful first edition, the second edition of the futurEU Competition prompted students and PhD researchers across CIVICA to participate in a policy exercise on the future of the European Union. 33 teams made up of 105 CIVICA students and PhD researchers registered to propose bold EU policies for young Europeans. Experts of the Jacques Delors Centre at the Hertie School have invited the best eight teams to defend their ideas during the oral rounds of the futurEU Competition. 

On 8 April, the final teams will present their visionary ideas for EU policy change.


  • Welcome and introduction
  • Keynote: Damian Boeselager, Member of European Parliament (MEP) and co-founder of Volt Europa
  • EU reform proposals presented by the two finalist teams 
  • Q&A session with the audience
  • Message from the futurEU team
  • Announcement of winning team

Re-watch the live recording >>

futurEU partners: CIVICA, Jacques Delors Centre Berlin and the Hertie School

futurEU is financed by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) with funding from the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Read more on the futurEU website >>


Damian Boeselager is a Member of the European Parliament. He holds degrees in Philosophy & Economics (University of Bayreuth) and a dual-Master in Public Administration (Hertie School and Columbia University, SIPA). Damian co-founded Volt, a pan-European, progressive movement with the aim of reforming the European continent. He focuses on creating a real European parliamentary democracy and framework for an economy with a focus on data policy and AI, paths for legal migration, a fair European asylum system, and ensuring that the EU works for all via budgetary stability measures. He was one of the negotiators for the Greens/EFA in the Budget Committee on the Recovery Reform Facility, part of the European recovery response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Panel of judges

  • Thu Ngyuen (Chair)
  • Nicole Koenig
  • Nils Redeker
  • Martijn van den Brink
  • Sebastian Mack
  • Heidi Marleen Bräuer
  • Linda Hewitt

Dr. Thu Nguyen is a Policy Fellow for EU Institutions and Democracy at the Jacques Delors Centre. Before joining the Centre, she was an Assistant Professor of comparative constitutional law at the Department of Public Law at Maastricht University. She holds a PhD in EU and comparative constitutional law from Maastricht University and was a re:constitution Fellow 2019-2020. Thu studied European Law in Maastricht and Rennes and holds a LL.M. from the College of Europe in Bruges.

Dr. Nicole Koenig is Deputy Director at the Jacques Delors Centre. Her areas of expertise include EU foreign and security policy, institutional questions, and migration policy. She is also a member of the International Advisory Board of the journal The International Spectator. Prior to joining the Jacques Delors Centre, she worked for the Trans European Policy Studies Association in Brussels, the Istituto Affari Internazionali in Rome, as well as the Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies in Potsdam. Nicole holds a PhD in Politics and International Relations from the Universities of Cologne and Edinburgh. She holds a Master’s degree in Politics and Management from the University of Constance and one in EU International Relations and Diplomacy from the College of Europe in Bruges.

Dr. Nils Redeker is a Policy Fellow for European Economic Policy at the Jacques Delors Centre. Prior to joining the Centre, he taught courses in Political Economy at the University of Zurich and was a Visiting Fellow at the Weatherhead Center for International Affairs at Harvard University. Nils has studied political science and economics at the Free University Berlin and the London School of Economics and did a PhD on questions concerning the Euro crisis, global imbalances and economic inequality at the University of Zurich.

Dr. Martijn van den Brink is a postdoctoral researcher at the Hertie School and research coordinator at the Jacques Delors Centre. Prior to joining the Hertie School, he was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Oxford and at the Max Planck Institute for the Study of Religious and Ethnic Diversity, Göttingen. He holds degrees in law and political science from the Universities of Oxford and Groningen and has held visiting positions at the University of Michigan and the University of Zagreb.

Martijn’s research interests lie at the interface of EU constitutional law and political theory. In his research projects, he has focused on the relationship between the EU legislature and judiciary, on the boundaries of citizenship in Europe, and on the regulation of religious equality within the EU. He will continue these projects at the Hertie School.

Sebastian Mack is a Policy Fellow for European Financial Markets at the Jacques Delors Centre. His research focuses on European banking supervision and resolution, Capital Markets Union and financial crime. Previously, he worked as academic assistant and policy advisor to a German Member of the European Parliament’s Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee and as audit senior for prudential regulation at an internationally leading accounting firm. Sebastian studied business administration, economics and European law at the University of Würzburg and the INSEEC Grande École Paris. He wrote his diploma thesis under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Peter Bofinger on the reform of the European Economic and Monetary Union and finished his studies as one of the top three graduates of his year. 

Heidi Marleen Bräuer is the Project lead for the Franco-German Dialogue Series at the Jacques Delors Centre. Prior she was Manager of Communications at the Jacques Delors Centre where she managed the websites, social media accounts, campaigns and events. At the Hertie School, she was also responsible for the communication of the university network CIVICA. Previously she worked as a press officer for financial topics in the German Bundestag and for DER SPIEGEL. Heidi holds a BA in French-German studies from the University Bonn, a MA from Sorbonne University in Paris and studied European Interdisciplinary Studies at the College of Europe in Warsaw.

Linda Hewitt is the press and public relations officer at the Jacques Delors Centre. She is in charge of the Centre's press relations, website and social media activities. Previously she worked in the field of political communication at Stiftung Mercator and as a project manager in the field of integration. She studied B.A. Arabic Studies at the Free University of Berlin and Lebanese American University in Beirut and holds a M.A. Middle Eastern Studies from Lund University in Sweden. There she specialized in the topics of Islam and democracy in Germany, Muslim minority groups in Germany and homosexuality in Islam.

Notice: Video & audio will be recorded during the entire event and made available, partly or in full, on the channels of CIVICA, its member institutions, and partners. By joining the event, you automatically consent to the recording. If you do not consent to being recorded, please discuss your concerns with the event's host.  

This event is organised in the framework of CIVICA - The European University of Social Sciences. CIVICA brings together eight leading European higher education institutions in the social sciences to mobilise and share knowledge as a public good and to facilitate civic responsibility in Europe and beyond. CIVICA was selected by the European Commission as one of the pilot European Universities under Erasmus+.